In response to most of us hidden object game fans reaction to the lack of challenge in Travelogue 360: Rome due to its built in hint highlight system, Big Fish Games is going to update the game so that the default game would have no highlight, with an option to turn it on if the gamer finds it too hard.

Here’s what I sent them:

Since you’ve passed by my site before and read the review for Hidden Expedition: Everest, I thought I should pass this along – it might be enlightening.

https://minutegamer.wordpress.com/2007/06/23/review-travelogue-360-rome-the-curse-of-the-necklace/

If it doesn’t apply to your projects, I thought you might be able to show it to whoever it would matter to, so to speak. And if you search around the net at the moment, it seems like I’m not the only one who thinks that the hint highlight system made the game a total flop.

~Sally

And here’s what I got back.

I just wanted to let you know that we’re making a change to the build so that the default is to get no highlighting of objects in the Word List, but the player can change back to the ‘easier mode’ by making a selection in the Profile screen.

We will be posting the updated build probably tomorrow, and will let you know when it’s up there. It would be awesome if you could take another look. We think you’ll like it, and the game won’t go too fast by a long chalk!

Please let me know if you have any questions,

Very best wishes,

Aly

Also:

After the game has been re-posted, anyone who purchased it will be able to download the updated version at no extra cost, using the link in the confirmation email that was sent when they made the purchase.

So if you have tried this game before, or have read a negative review and didn’t want to, it’s good to know that the hint highlight is no longer an issue. I’ll post an update (and a link) when the new build is available.

[edit: it’s available now!]

