Curtis just learned the art of the squeal a few days ago. Ok. Nevermind squeal – the kid learned how to scream. He doesn’t really know what it means yet, but he does know that forcing air through those little pipes of his makes a high, screechy, and different sound than any he’s used to hearing from himself. So he’s been practicing.

He’ll scream when he’s happy, he’ll scream when he’s bored, he’ll scream just to hear himself scream. My neighbours probably thinks that we’re either torturing him or changing his diaper 20 times a day. I wonder if other babies go through this stage. I certainly don’t remember my little brother going through a scream stage or hearing other people talk about it.

He’s happily screaming at the moment and my ears are starting to ring. Note to self: get some ear plugs.

